Friday, May 25, 2007

Adsense: How to Make Money With Ads by Google

0 comments
By William Charlwood

The chances are that you've seen "Ads by Google" on a variety of websites and perhaps wondered what they were all about. The fact is that you can probably get "Ads by Google" on your own site and if you do, you can look forward to getting paid by Google.

The system is called Google AdSense and it does two things really neatly.

First of all it allows virtually any website owner to make some money without having to do too much - all you do is paste some code that Google gives you into your web pages. This code creates the ads that you see and when someone clicks on one of these ads they go to the advertiser's site. The advertiser is then charged for the click by Google and Google shares the money with you. You don't have to worry about billing a load of different companies or anything else: this is all done for you as part of the AdSense service.

That much is fairly straightforward and good news.

But the really clever thing about AdSense is that the ads you see on your site are relevant to your content - automatically. So if you have a web page about mobile phones you'll see ads about mobile phones on it. If you have a web page about holidays in Tasmania, you'll see ads for holidays in Tasmania on it. Google's technology scans your web page and decides what it is about and then searches its database of well over 175,000 advertisers to find the ads that are most suitable for your page.

By making the ads relevant to your site, Google does you two favors: the ads can enhance the overall experience a visitor to your site gets which means they are likely to return, and because the ads are relevant to your visitor, they are likely to get clicked on.

And when they get clicked on, you make money.

To make most money with Google AdSense you need to develop web pages that are about high value topics. In other words, build content on your site that is likely to attract ads that pay highly when clicked because not all ads are worth the same.

In fact some ads pay many dollars a click whereas others only pay a few cents.

The art of maximizing your AdSense income is to understand how to attract high paying ads onto your pages and then drive a lot of traffic to those pages. Once you've done that you can look forward to getting paid by Google on a regular basis which makes Google AdSense one of the most attractive affiliate programs on the internet today.

Thursday, May 24, 2007

Adsense Authors: Who Are These People?

0 comments
By Christopher Knight

Adsense is a program designed by Google to help publishers monetize their websites using high contextually-accurate ads. Adwords is the other side of the coin which allows any person to create an account with Google and bid on keywords or key phrases to have their ads appear in either the search results ad placements, or in content sites that display Adsense ads.

Over the past few months I’ve identified a group of authors, writers, and publishers that I call: “Adsense Authors.”

My definition of an Adsense Author: Any author that uses article marketing as a strategy to drive traffic to their website in order to drive their adsense ad revenue sales.
These “Adsense Authors” really understand how to fully leverage article marketing as a strategy like no other group of authors.

Here are the commonly shared traits of these authors:

1. Their articles are short, between 200-600 words.

2. The quantity of articles they produce are typically from 25-300; around a tightly focused niche topic.

3. The TITLE of their articles are very keyword rich: the first two, three, or four words are the most important in rank. You won't find these authors wasting the first 4 words of their title with non-keyword-rich words (such as "a" "how to" "top" "the" "of" etc).

4. The BODY of their articles has high keyword density for the terms they are targeting.

5. The KEYWORDS they use when submitting their articles are intelligently selected based on the overture or other keyword research tools; they are not haphazardly selected.

6. They do not load up and bloat the guts of the BODY of their articles with links back to their sites; they know this slows down the acceptance of their articles for reprint by other publishers.

7. Their articles are fun, fast, and easy to read. Often they will use bullets, numbered lists, and quick sub-heads to make the article easy to visually digest.

8. Lastly, their RESOURCE BOX is brief with only one or two links in them: one link to their full website URL, and one anchored text link to a keyword of importance to their niche. They know that big, ego driven resource boxes slow down the viral nature of article marketing strategy.

Conclusion on Adsense Authoring

Adsense Authors have discovered the secrets behind fully unlocking the power of article marketing to drive enormous storms of organic traffic to their websites. They accomplish this with dozens to hundreds of tightly-focused niche articles, all reflecting high keyword value and research intelligence.

You won’t find any 3,000+ word articles or ego driven article content from an Adsense Author. They have only one purpose in mind: To drive massive amounts of traffic to their Adsense-based business model using article marketing as a key strategy.

Even if your goal in life has nothing to do with Adsense, you can definitely learn from today’s Adsense Authors on how to take Article Marketing to the next level of possibilities.

Tuesday, May 22, 2007

Adsense Affiliate Free Blog Secrets

0 comments
One online combination in recent times that has proved red hot is that of Adsense affiliates and free blogs.

Countless online entrepreneurs and many an affiliate businessperson have demonstrated just how possible it is to join the Adsense program and then launch a number of free blogs and end up generating a huge sum of money almost effortlessly on a monthly basis.

Some Adsense affiliates have used a strategy where they have launched dozens of blogs based on carefully picked out keyword phrases covering the most lucrative keyword phrases. These keyword phrases are lucrative in terms of generating the highest click value Adsense ads and they are also the sort of non-competitive keyword phrases that are popular enough to generate a sizeable amount of traffic via leading search engines. This is the sort of combination that has proved most profitable to many an Adsense affiliate.

What has attracted many Adsense affiliates to this amazing business model is the fact that there is virtually no cash investment required. Incidentally many and Adsense Affiliate has quickly found out that it is a lot easier to get away with a blog that is hosted free than a web site that is hosted free. Blogs are mainly judged on the value of information that they provide.

So the only investment the Adsense affiliate has to make when using free-hosted blogs is the time spent researching and churning out the keyword rich content for their free blogs. The Adsense affiliate continues to break all sorts of revenue records using free blogs.

Friday, May 18, 2007

Increasing Adsense Income

1 comments
The term AdSense has almost become synonymous with a quick and easy way to earn income. Adsense is Google’s way of sharing revenue with webmasters. Adsense is used as a way to make money with a website. Online marketers call this monetizing a site. Simply put that means that your website is an employee who goes out into cyberspace and earns income for you.

How much money a Webmaster earns from Adsense is influenced by a lot of external forces. However, the most common thread for making money from Adsense is the quality of content on the website. It is not remarkable that article marketing and Adsense incomes are intrinsically linked.

Internet writers are in high demand. Writers create the content that drives the Internet consumer's constant need for information. Some of the content in the form of articles is available from article directories. Private Label Rights Membership sites provide another supply of articles.

Because of the constant requirement for content, there are thousands of article directories that provide an unlimited number of articles on various subjects that Webmaster use to fill their sites with updated content. This content is an important resource. Good content is demanded by online surfers. Quality content encourages the search engines to not only visit the sites but to reward content publishers who provide quality content with higher page rankings.

Putting AdSense on a web page that has relevant content is the foundation for creating extra income. Using keywords and other Search Engine Optimizations tactics correctly will result in the highest revenues. Some experts suggest certain colors of the ad or the way the Adsense ads are placed on the page are differentiating factors that effect Adsense income.

There are many strategies explained in ebooks and reports on how to make the best use of Adsense ads to increase your income. But nothing brings the search engines, clicks, visitors and sales quicker than providing good content. Quality content is the fuel that drives this money machine.

Building a website from scratch for the sole purpose of cashing in on all the money available through AdSense might be a good use of resources. But the website must contain real content. Some webmasters try to use shortcuts to create Adsense sites.

Google penalizes sites that are packed with keywords and nonsensical articles that read like badly translated dictionaries. These sites are created solely for the purpose of providing a space to put up AdSense units. This type of site is ignored or at worst banned by Google. Your Adsense sites must meet Google's stringent criteria for relevant content in order to monetize the site.

In the Online world you can never be too rich or offer your customer too many choices. The Internet is all about choice. You can create websites around almost any keyword or subject and earn Adsense income. The quality of the content on the site will determine whether you create income from Adsense or a static placeholder on the Internet.

Thursday, May 17, 2007

Adsense Secrets

0 comments
Pst! Wanna know some Adsense secrets? The only secret is that there are no secrets per se!

Do a search for Adsense secrets and you will be bombarded by a myriad of ads by trying to sell you the answers to making lots of money with Adsense.

Before you buy anything, my advise to you would be to do some research on a search engine and a bit of common sense. There are literally hundreds of forums where you can pick up valuable information, as well as hundreds of articles that have been written on the subject of Adsense.

Most of the answers are out there for you to find it you will put in a little bit of work. If you buy any of the ebooks available out there, you might find one little nugget of information that you may not have seen anywhere else, but I promise you: most of the time everything is out here on the Internet - all you have to do is search for it. Here are some of the search terms that I personally have used with great results:

increase adsense income
increase your adsense income
adsense experiments
adsense adsense tricks
adsense tips
What I can tell you from my own experience is this:

1. Ads at the top of the page and on the left of the page perfom better than any other ads. (Take a look at the "heatmap" from the Google link below)

2. Ads without background colour and borders perfom better than ads within borders with background colour.

3. Ads within content pages perform better than any other ads.

4. A search box on every page gives you another chance for earning Adsense income.

5. A blue link at the top of the ad, the ad in black, and the url also in black so that it blends in with the ad copy - also tends to perform well. A black url makes the link stand out and gives you a better chance of someone clicking on it.

Google has brought out some great Adsense optimization tips. You can read it here: Google Adsense optimization tips

Experiment with your settings and see which brings you the best results. Google's reporting has become a lot better in the last month or so, so you should instantly be able to see which ads result in better CTR.

To increase your site traffic, which obviously will increase your Adsense income, the best way to get traffic is to have fresh content at your site. Write your own articles and submit it to article directories like Go Articles etc. To find more article directories, just do a search for "free article directory submissions" on a search engine like Google.

Another way would be to publish articles by other authors that are relevant to your site content. You can find free articles all over the web by once again doing a search for e.g. "free site content".

Do this on a regular basis and watch your traffic (and your income) increase.

Wednesday, May 16, 2007

Verifying your phone number

0 comments
A number of publishers have asked us about phone verification and indicated that they're having difficulty with the process. After investigating these reports, we've discovered that our system is currently experiencing intermittent outages. We're working hard to fix the issue as soon as we can and appreciate your patience in the interim.

Not sure if you need to verify your phone number? Find out by visiting your Payment History page - if you've reached $50 in earnings and see the 'Please verify your phone number' prompt shown in the image below, keep reading. If you don't see this message on your Payment History page, you don't need to verify your phone number.



If you're required to verify your phone number, you can initiate the process by clicking the 'Please verify your phone number' link and following the instructions. We'd also like to offer you a few tips for completing the phone verification process, based on publisher feedback. First, our automated phone system isn't compatible with rotary phones or certain types of VoIP technology, so you may wish to double check the phone line you're using. In addition, if your phone has a Tone/Pulse option, please make sure it's set to 'Tone'. Finally, you may wish to try a different phone number if you're having difficulty - for instance, try switching from your cell phone to a land line.

Tuesday, May 15, 2007

The AdSense Formula for Making Money - 2

0 comments
Adjusting the ads is something you can do almost immediately:

Position the ads on the page in order to make them more noticeable. Google even publishes a helpful heat map for AdSense publishers.

Choose the best AdSense ad format that works for your site.

Change the ad colors either to make the ads blend in with your site or to make them stand out. Again, it varies depending on the site.
Whatever you do, DO NOT ENTICE VISITORS TO CLICK THE ADS. Google is very strict about this, see the AdSense program policies for the details.

Increasing the Average AdSense Price Per Click

Increasing the average price per click you receive from AdSense is the other strategy for increasing your overall AdSense earnings. You can do this by:

Carefully targeting your content, and/or
Filtering out and avoiding low-paying ads
Content targeting isn't just about creating relevant, unique content. It's also making sure that that content is written to target the higher-paying keywords associated with a given topic. This means:

Figuring out which keyword variations for that topic pay more. Often the more specialized variations and phrases pay more than the "generic" terms.

Ensuring that the keyword density of the content favors the higher-paying keyword variations. See the Vioxx Lawsuits page for an example of well-targeted ads due to appropriate keyword density.
And to reduce the occurrence of lower-paying ads, consider these two strategies:

Use AdSense's competitive filter mechanism to screen out the ads that you don't want.

Show fewer ads on a page. The fewer ads you show, the more the higher-paying ads get displayed and clicked.
Many publishers also report that their earnings increase if they remove ads completely from pages with few or no clicks. Again, the "less is more" strategy favors the higher-paying ads.

There's No Magic

As you can see, there's no magic involved to increasing your AdSense earnings. The Fundamental AdSense Formula is easy to understand, but that doesn't mean it's easy to apply the formula. It takes time and effort to do it, just like most things.

The AdSense Formula for Making Money - 1

0 comments
I often get asked what the secret is to making money with Google's AdSense program. This often comes from people who are dreaming of setting up websites chock full of high-paying keywords for particular niche subjects and then sitting back and watching the money roll in. "What's the magic formula?" they ask me. If they're non-technical, I point them straight to my first AdSense book, Make Easy Money with Google, and assure them that they'll learn everything they need from it. They may think it's hard, but it's not.

But what about the technical people? By this I mean the people who've already set up a blog or website, who have registered domain names, who are comfortable with basic Internet terminology and concepts. What is the "AdSense formula"?

The only AdSense formula that you need to know is this:

earnings = number of clicks * average price per click

This is what I call the Fundamental AdSense Formula because you can derive almost every AdSense "secret" directly or indirectly from this formula. Do you want to earn more with AdSense? You have two ways of doing it:

Increase the number of clicks, and/or
Increase the average price per click
Your earnings will only go up if you do one or the other, and ideally both. It's an obvious formula, yes, but it's amazing how many people lose sight of it in their quest for increased AdSense earnings.

Increasing the Number of AdSense Clicks

Increasing the number of times the ads on your site or blog are clicked is the most obvious strategy. There are two general strategies you can follow:

Increase the traffic to the site, and/or
Adjust the ads to make them more "clickable"

Getting traffic is hard and takes time, so don't look at it as a quick fix. The best way to get traffic is to provide useful, unique content and to rank highly in search engine rankings for keywords related to that content. In other words, use standard search engine optimization techniques. DO NOT "buy" traffic or use "link farms" or other dubious techniques. Other tips for getting traffic:

Publish articles, even free ones, with links back to your site.
Include a link to your site in the signature at the bottom of your emails or in any forum postings you make (if the forum allows it).

Participate in forums/groups related to the content of your site or blog. The key is to participate, not lurk, and don't just post messages promoting your site.

Add comments (relevant ones only, please) to other blogs, you can usually link back to yours. (This won't help your search engine rankings, but it may allow others who are reading those comments to find your own site.)

Syndicate your content (trivial if you have a blog) and make sure that the content is registered with syndication aggregators.

List your site in relevant directories.

Monday, May 14, 2007

How to Double Your AdSense Income Instantly

0 comments
As you probably already know, AdSense is revolutionizing the way many infopreneurs are creating revenue from their web site traffic. The reason for this is its simplicity. Through AdSense, revenue is generated when someone simply clicks thru the AdSense ads displayed on the webmasters web site.

In this article I want to give you a few simple ways to dramatically increase your AdSense income.

The bottom line:

To increase AdSense income all you must do is increase the number of click thrus you receive.

There are two ways for you to increase your total number of click thrus. You can either increase your website traffic or you can increase your AdSense click thru rate. Now, getting more traffic would be great, but let’s be honest increasing your web site traffic is much easier said than done. So, let’s focus on increasing your AdSense click thru rate instead.

4 Tips to Increase Click Thru:

Match your AdSense to your website:

You want your AdSense ads to appear as seamless as possible. Your goal is to match every aspect of your AdSense ads to the theme of your website. What you want to do is remove the borders from your AdSense ads and match the background color of the ad to your website. Additionally, you want to match the color of the AdSense links to the rest of the links on your website plus choose an ad format that makes the ads look seamless.

For example, if your web site has a white background and the default color of your hypertext links is blue you will want to remove the border from your AdSense, make the background white, choose either a square or a rectangle as your ad format instead of a skyscraper or banner, and yep you guessed it… make the links blue.

Placement Matters:

Where you place your AdSense ads is just as important as how they look. Luckily, there are only a few concepts that you need to worry about in order to increase your click through rate.

The more white space around your ads the better
The closer to the top of the page the better
The closer the left of the page the better
Follow these concepts and I can assure you that you will see an increase in your AdSense click thru rate. (It really is that simply!)

Google Search:

Now this is one that I rarely see webmasters take advantage of. The Google AdSense program gives webmasters the ability to add a Google search box to there web site.

Why should you use this function?

Well, when a website visitor chooses to use this search box from your website your AdSense ID will be imbedded in ALL of that visitors Google searches. If that person does 1 search or 50 your AdSense ID will still be imbedded throughout process.

Why is this so great?

If that visitor clicks on any of the sponsored listings while surfing from your web site guess who makes money. YOU! If they hit the back button and click on another ad guess who makes money? YOU! This is absolutely huge. Through this function you now have the ability to earn multiple click thrus from the same visitor on the site visit. Please don’t overlook how powerful this is. Besides, most of your website traffic will just be browsing anyway, so I why help them find what there looking for and make a little coin along the way?

Tracking:

Just like any other type of marketing, you won’t know what’s working the best for you on your web site unless you track the different things that you’re experimenting with. Set up a few Google AdSense channels for the different ads that you’ll be placing on your website. Then just see which channels are working the best and stick to those.

That’s it!

Follow the tips above and I can assure you that you will absolutely double your AdSense click thru rate and your AdSense income. The best part about the four tips I’ve shared here is that you can put them into action immediately and see how they will work on your website right now. Who knows… you could be making twice as much by tomorrow by just making a few simple tweaks here and there.

Friday, May 11, 2007

A clarification on accidental clicks

0 comments
We understand that there's been some confusion surrounding our recent post about accidental clicks. Specifically, many of our publishers feel that we've been sending mixed messages about placing ads near navigation controls, particularly where site optimization is concerned.

For those of you concerned about our optimization tips, we still recommend integrating your ad units and link units with your page content or navigation, in order to offer your users relevant ads in addition to the content they normally see. Here are a few examples of acceptable implementations:



However, in some instances we've found that publishers have placed their ad units so close to interactive (clickable) content that users accidentally click on the ads instead of the site content. While this type of ad placement may not inherently violate our program policies, it could increase the risk of invalid clicks being generated on the ads, which would be in violation of our policies.

You can understand that increasing the possibility of accidental clicks on your sites is not in the best interest of users or advertisers, and we wanted to make you aware of this risk. This is why we ask that you maintain sufficient distance between your ads and any elements of your page on which users may often click. Because every site is different, we can't provide you with the exact amount of space to put between these page elements. However, we hope you understand our reasoning, and we ask you to use your best judgment so as to avoid possible accidental clicks in the future.

To help you, here's an example of an ad placement that could have a high risk of generating accidental clicks, and which we'd recommend avoiding:



Thanks again for your cooperation and your feedback. If you have any questions about optimization techniques, feel free to visit our tips page

Thursday, May 10, 2007

Google Accounts landing soon

0 comments
Spring is a time for change, when couples fall in love, the trees bloom -- and swallows and AdSense publishers both begin their migration. That's right, we've just started our first Google Account migration tests for older AdSense accounts. When you log into your account, you may be greeted by a screen like the one below, asking you to upgrade your login to a "Google Account".

We're rolling out this migration slowly, so please don't be alarmed if you don't see this wizard in your account yet. If you like the email address you're already using, in most cases you'll be able to upgrade it to a Google Account and keep the same login and password. However, if you use another email address for other Google products like Gmail and Picasaweb, you already have a Google Account and you can finally use the same login for AdSense. Please note, however, that at this time it's not possible to update your login to an email address that is already being used as a login for AdWords or another AdSense account. We're working on fixing this, and you won't be required to migrate until we do.

Finally, please keep in mind that only older AdSense accounts need to be migrated, so you may not be affected. You're also welcome to skip the migration wizard for now if you like, although this means you may miss out on some cool new features!
Article Source Google Adsensn Blog

Wednesday, May 09, 2007

It's all Greek to your unpublished pages

0 comments
Recently, a number of concerned publishers have let us know that they're seeing ads in foreign languages in the 'preview mode' of their HTML editors or on pages that haven't been published to the web. We'd like to reassure you that this is normal.

Before our system can display targeted ads on your pages, our crawler first needs to access your pages. While you're building your pages within your HTML editor, your page hasn't yet been crawled, so you may sometimes see less-targeted ads or even ads in foreign languages. However, after you've published a page to the web, you should start seeing ads in the appropriate language. Please also keep in mind that it can sometimes take 1 to 2 weeks for our crawler to revisit your site after you've made any changes, but your ad relevance should improve over time. As always, we appreciate your patience as the crawler continues its work.
Source: Google Inside AdSense Blog

Tuesday, May 08, 2007

Why the lower eCPM?

0 comments

Now that site targeted and contextually targeted ads can be displayed separately in AdSense Advanced Reports, there seems to be some confusion about site targeted ads with lower eCPM। We'd like to explain why you should always feel assured that you're getting the best paying ads for your pages.

Site targeted ads compete in the same auction as contextually targeted ads. They will only appear on your site if they represent a higher eCPM than any combination of contextually targeted ads competing to display in the same ad unit. The AdWords auction process takes into account factors such as bid price and clickthrough rate in calculating Ad Rank, the ranking system determining which ads will appear on your page। Opting into site targeted ads should only improve your overall revenue potential by deepening the pool of advertisements competing to display on your sites.

So why is the eCPM associated with site targeted ads sometimes lower than the eCPM associated with contextual ads in your Advanced Reports? The answer is that site targeted ads are most likely appearing on lower performing pages within your account – in other words, pages requiring a lower eCPM to win the AdWords ad auction. For example, say your ad unit on 'PageA.com' has an eCPM of $5.00, and a combination of contextually targeted ads are displaying. Your ad unit on 'PageB.com' has an eCPM of $1.00, and a site targeted ad is displaying because it represents the highest revenue potential for this page.

If these are the only two pages on which you are displaying AdSense ads, your Advanced Reports will show an eCPM of $5.00 for contextual ads, and an eCPM of $1.00 for site targeted ads. However, all of your ad units are automatically optimized to display the highest paying ads available at that moment.



Lastly, please remember that site targeted ads pay on a cost-per-thousand impressions (CPM) basis, not on a cost-per-click (CPC) basis, so you will be paid whether or not your visitors click on them. For site targeted ads, clickthrough rate does not affect eCPM since advertisers bid on a cost-per-thousand impression basis rather than a cost-per-click basis.

Source: Google Inside AdSense Blog

Monday, May 07, 2007

Don't run the risk of click and miss

0 comments

As you may know, our tips and guidelines mention that "users should only click on Google ads if they're interested in the services being advertised"। While there are many precautions a publisher can take to avoid encouraging clicks on their ads, we've found that some implementations of the ad code can lead to accidental clicks that the publisher may not have been able to predict. Some implementations that could lead to accidental clicks include placing your ads:



- In close proximity to Macromedia Flash games
- Under pop-ups or download prompts
- Near site navigation controls on your pages, such as drop-downs or menu links

Generally, we ask that you not place your ads near features of your site that your users may interact with by clicking. If your site contains elements that increase the number of ad clicks without increasing business results for the advertiser, we may consider these clicks to be invalid. "Business results" can range from an online sale to a page view. If we detect enough of these clicks and determine that the risk to our advertisers is too great, we may disable the account. To maintain compliance with our program policies and ensure that your users don't inadvertently click on the ads on your site, we strongly recommend that you move any ad units that are in close proximity to interactive site features।

As always, thanks in advance for your cooperation!

Thursday, May 03, 2007

Extreme makeover for the AdSense homepage

0 comments
Following the facelift we gave our ad units at the beginning of April, we've now started the same process for the AdSense homepage. You may have noticed recently that when you sign in, it's taken on a different appearance (at least sometimes). Over the next few days, you can expect to see this new homepage design more frequently as we roll out this change. If you haven't yet caught a glimpse of the new layout, here's a sneak peek:




We hope you'll find this new homepage to be more visually appealing. However, please be assured that your AdSense performance and the layout of your internal account pages won't be affected in any way by this change.
Source: Google Inside Adsense Blog

Wednesday, May 02, 2007

Google Accounts landing soon

0 comments

Spring is a time for change, when couples fall in love, the trees bloom -- and swallows and AdSense publishers both begin their migration. That's right, we've just started our first Google Account

migration tests for older AdSense accounts। When you log into your account, you may be greeted by a screen like the one below, asking you to upgrade your login to a "Google Account".

We're rolling out this migration slowly, so please don't be alarmed if you don't see this wizard in your account yet। If you like the email address you're already using, in most cases you'll be able to upgrade it to a Google Account and keep the same login and password। However, if you use another email address for other Google products like Gmail and Picasaweb, you already have a Google Account and you can finally use the same login for AdSense। Please note, however, that at this time it's not possible to update your login to an email address that is already being used as a login for AdWords or another AdSense account। We're working on fixing this, and you won't be required to migrate until we do.

Finally, please keep in mind that only older AdSense accounts need to be migrated, so you may not be affected। You're also welcome to skip the migration wizard for now if you like, although this means you may miss out on some cool new features!



Tuesday, May 01, 2007

At what cost revenue?

0 comments

It's an oft-seen question from publishers: Are we earning revenue for ad impressions or for ad clicks? The answer is that it depends on whether cost-per-impression (CPM) ads or cost-per-click (CPC) ads are appearing on your pages. By default, CPC ads will show on your site and you'll generate earnings for valid clicks on those ads. However, your ad units will display CPM ads when advertisers bid specifically on your site using site targeting, and for those ads you'll generate earnings with each valid impression. Please keep in mind that CPM earnings are not the same as the values you see in your eCPM column; your eCPM is only a reporting feature that can help you compare ad performance

To determine which type of ad you displayed on specific days, you can follow these instructions to generate a report। In your Advanced Reports, the ad type 'Site' refers to CPM ads, and 'Contextual' refers to CPC ads.

Want to show more CPM ads on your site? It's not possible to request CPM ads, but you can help advertisers get interested in your site by customizing your Onsite Advertiser Sign-up landing page. Advertisers can then create campaigns targeted specifically at your site, directly from your site. And don't forget to focus on quality, placement, and size -- take a look at some important tips from the AdWords team on what advertisers look for in site targeting their CPM ads।

Remember: keep publishing that high-quality content and the advertisers will come to you.

Source: Google Inside AdSense Blog
 

Copyright 2013 All Rights Reserved